When serving the first serve, stand behind the baseline between the center mark and the right sideline. The ball is hit diagonally into the service box on the other side of the net, on the opposite side of the center mark from which the server is serving. And remember, you’re not allowed to step on or over the baseline before hitting the ball.
The serve is a let if: The served ball touches the net, strap or band, and lands in the correct court. The served ball touches the net, strap or band and then touches the receiver, the receiver’s partner or anything they wear or carry before hitting the ground. The ball is served when the receiver is not ready.
The Basics of a Tennis Serve. Tennis serves are overhand, and they are diagonal. For each point, the server has two attempts at the serve. If the first serve lands in the service court, that is the ball that’s played. If the first serve lands outside of the service court or goes into the net, it is a fault and the server has a second serve.
No, reaching over the net with your racket is not allowed in tennis. You need the ball to have reached your side of the court first. The only exception to this is if the ball lands on your side and either due to the spin on the ball or the wind, the ball bounces back over the net and onto the other side of the court.
A good serve should be hit diagonally opposite over the net onto the service box. This picture below resumes the rule: Serve 1 must hit the service box 1, before the receiver receives the ball. Serve 2 must hit the service box 2, before the receiver receives the ball. Tennis service rules.
Rules on Let Serves. The serve is a let if: The served ball touches the net, strap or band, and lands in the correct court. The served ball touches the net, strap or band and then touches the receiver, the receiver’s partner or anything they wear or carry before hitting the ground.
– Strikes the net and doesn’t cross into the opponent’s court, remaining in the servers court. – Strikes the net, crosses into the opponent’s court, but bounces outside of the serve box. This is why a fault leads to a loss of the first serve or a point if on the second serve (a double fault). Whereas a let leads to simply repeating the serve, whether it’s the first or the second serve.
Can the Ball Hit the Net in Tennis? (6 Scenarios Explained) 1. The First Serve Hits the Net and Stops This is a clear fault. The rule states that when a ball fails to clear the... 2. The Second Serve Hits the Net and Stops The second attempt is statistically more successful than the first. This ...