it was outside the box and it involved the keeper it was always an IDK - FALSE!!! A Handball is either a DFK/PK or trifling/non-intentional! - once the Keeper is out of the PA he is no different than any other player. Either you or the referee were missing something!
Conversely, a goalie who is standing completely outside the box may touch a ball that is inside the goal box area without penalty. Free Kick. Once the referee decides that the goalie has illegally handled the ball outside the box, the whistle blows and play stops. The referee places the ball at the spot of the infraction.
See more videos for Handball Outside The Box
Goalkeepers have the freedom to handle the ball inside their own penalty area. Outside the penalty box, the rules on handling the ball are applicable to the keepers just like any outfield player.
A goalkeeper commits a handball offence if he handles the ball outside of the penalty area. The goalkeeper is only allowed to handle the ball within his own penalty area. As such, he cannot use his hands once he is outside of his penalty box. According the Laws of the Game, the goalkeeper cannot handle the ball if he is outside of his penalty area.
Once a keeper is outside the penalty area he becomes merely a player...so unless you consider every handball by any player outside the box a straight red....then no. Enough players DO seem to think ANY handball must be at least a yellow: so much so that IFAB had to make it clear that only if it breaks up a promising attack does it warrant a caution.
More Handball Outside The Box images
Why are keepers not penalised for handball outside the box? Can understand not implementing handball's in open play because people would abuse it. However if a keeper handball's then surely that should be a free kick? obviously no card should follow because that would be unfair but things like this should never happen.
Summary: The IFAB Laws of the Game defines handball as “the deliberate act of a player making contact with the ball with the hand or arm”. The goalkeeper is exempt from this rule inside their penalty area, but has the same restrictions as any other player outside their box. A ball off the shoulder is not handball.
Handball in the Penalty Box Rules I wanted to end this article by specifically looking at a handball in the penalty area, as this is one area where lots of people have questions. We have covered some of this information already, but let’s think about it directly in relation to the penalty area.